On Being An Airhead: Laugh It Off

I woke up at 2AM this morning to Clementine crying. I knew she was still hungry, so off I went to feed the starving little thing.

Once I was back in bed, I couldn’t fall asleep. I was too busy laughing at what an airhead I was that evening.

We ordered pizza for dinner with some friends and had it delivered just before they arrived at our house. When I saw the Papa John’s car pull in the driveway, I hurried down the stairs, leaving a “sleeping” Miles in his room, a husband who was trying for an hour to get some bank somewhere to freaking refinance our house and a screaming baby who had conveniently just woken up from a all to short nap.

It was all paid for, including the tip online, so I opened the door and the kid (I’m sure he was in his 20s, but if you seem younger than I am, you’re a kid) said hi and asked me to sign the top copy of the receipt. I took it and the pen and fumbled around the doorframe on where I could find a surface to write on. I swear in moments like that I feel like I’m taking an eternity- all I hear is a screaming child, the pizza kid’s car running, and his voice in slow mo all crowding my brain, getting louder and louder. You didn’t know signing a pizza bill could be so dramatic, did you?

So, nice as he was, the pizza kid says “Here, you can sign on the pizza box…” and like the good girl who follows orders that I am, I placed the pen on the hot cardboard of the pizza box and began signing my name.

The sad thing was I didn’t even catch it myself.

“No, hehehe, I meant sign the paper on the box if that’s easier….”

I am a red head, but I can be a complete air head and have been for many years. Just ask my softball coaches. Or my husband. Sometimes common sense totally evades me.

“Oh, hahaha, oh my gosh, sorry. I have a screaming baby upstairs and my brain is just fried right now.” I’d like to blame my brain cell’s disappearing act on Clementine alone, but I know that’s not true.

“I totally understand!” Said the kid. No you don’t. You’re too young to have two children that wear the heck out of you! He was nice about it though. And I’m sure had a nice laugh once in his car.

I couldn’t believe how stupid I was, but then I decided to give myself a break. I’ve had a lot going on lately. A lot of big changes, a few emotional rollercoasters and a lack of sleep. Jason started his new job today, praise the Lord! About time he got his butt out of the house and out of my hair! He was crampin’ my style! And a paycheck is handy, too. 🙂 I’m proud of him and excited for him in his new role. Can’t wait until 5pm to hear all about his first day. No, I didn’t pack his lunch or put a cute little sappy note in it. I was too busy sleeping:) Anyway, back to me being an airhead. Yes, I decided to take it easy on my self esteem. I’ll just use material like this to give you a laugh and hope you can share the dumb things you do on occasion with me so I don’t feel so inadequate.

It’s important to give yourself a break sometimes and just laugh.

One thought on “On Being An Airhead: Laugh It Off

Leave a Reply

