To Do List

I remember in the winter/spring of 2006 laughing about my to do list.

It looked like this:

  • Graduate college
  • Find a full time job
  • House hunt and buy a house
  • Get married

It was a daunting list, with each having their own sub-to-do-list. It seemed ridiculous and overwhelming. I understood, however, that there would be a handful of times in life that those huge life changes seem to all happen about the same time. The only two items on the list that I knew would happen and when were the day I would graduate and the day I would get married. Even with that, Jason could come to his senses and bail on me. 😉

I (semi-jokingly) wrote our current to-do list on our cork-board calendar and felt the same way about this list. And, like the list above, each item will be crossed off, I just don’t have the luxury of knowing any of the dates on this list.

  • Get accepted to a school (Jason)/figure out where we’re going to move
  • Have a 2nd baby
  • Sell the house
  • Find a part-time job wherever we end up moving to (Ali)

And, also like the first list, each of those points are loaded down with smaller to-do lists of their own.

It’s comforting to know many of you have had similar tasks lie in front of you and you all turned out okay and kept most of your sanity. 🙂 Like the list in 2006, my 2012 list will get crossed off in time- and probably sooner rather than later. Turns my stomach into knots when I think about it too much. Maybe I’ll just breathe deeply, remember what I felt the Lord tell me yesterday (“I see you, Allison.”) and have some hot tea for now. And maybe some chocolate.

2 thoughts on “To Do List

  1. Leah says:

    I love that: “I see you, Allison.” I had a similar moment with Him the other morning. I just sat there for a second basking in it and was soooo thankful. I’ll have to tell you about it when we finally have a visit.

Leave a Reply

