The Englands’ Came From Ireland

I’m so thankful for the internet in many ways, but as an amateur genealogist, I am VERY thankful. I don’t just go to vital record sites or census sites. I use those quite a bit, but I have found countless gems of information googling my ancestors names. I came across a couple of blogs that shared history and stories about a few of my ancestors. This will be a two parter, I’m sure:)

I came across www.blindpigandtheacorn.com/, a blog about Appalachian Heritage. She shared a story “William England and son Richard England-¬†Revolutionary War Patriots” written previously (maybe in 2005?) by Ethelene Dyer Jones. She is a retired educator, freelance writer, poet, and historian. She also is a very distant cousin of mine. You would get confused if I told you how. Way back stuff.

I think the title of the post may be wrong, as the story is about William and his son Daniel, but Daniel’s son is named Richard, actually William Richard.

Basically, I knew (from family research passed down to me) that William was born in 1722 in Donegal, Ireland. He came to America in 1733 at the ripe ol’ age of 11 with his parents during the Scotch-Irish immigration and settled in Pennsylvania. His first wife was Elizabeth Wilcox, they had one son, William Jr. He met and married Mary Watson and had at least 4 sons: John, Joseph, Samuel and Daniel (1752-1818). Daniel was well into his 20’s during the Revolution, and here’s where my info now comes from Ethelene Dyer Jones. (I’m paraphrasing.)

After moving from Pennsylvania to Maryland (where Daniel was born) they moved further south to Chatham County, North Carolina and their other three sons. There, William and his former brother-in-law, John Wilcox built an iron foundry on Hunting Creek near Morganton. William’s son Daniel was of age, so he helped work in the furnace, casting cannons and cannon balls used in the war effort. They are recognized for their material assistance in the Revolution by Daughters and Sons of the American Revolution. Apparently Daniel had applied for and received deferment from induction into the military because of this important work in his father’s foundry.

Now, I would think having the last name “England” during the War for Independence would be difficult. I wonder if people gave them a hard time about it, or if they felt pressured to change it.

Daniel married Margaret Guinn right before the war and had 8 children between 1777 and 1804. He died in 1818 in Burke County, North Carolina and his widow received land in the lottery and moved to the mountains of Northern Georgia- to Habersham County with some of her children. One of them was my great-great-great-great grandfather, William Richard and his wife, my gggg-grandmother Martha “Patsy” (nee Montgomery). The Englands would farm the Northeast Georgian counties for the next 3 generations to come.

There are still family of ours living in Northern Georgia, cousins, and up until recently aunts (sisters of my great grandmother, Grace (England) Bowers. There is a rich history there and I continue to see what I can dig up.


Leave a Reply

