Spinach Is For Toddlers And You

Happy April. Miles has been rejecting vegetables like it’s his job as of late, and I have tried about everything aside from hooking him up to an IV of pure broccoli/carrot juice.

I made a spinach casserole that I’m sure Mike Rowe has tasted at some point, since this is his aunt’s recipe (my uncle’s mom-my uncle and Mike are cousins-yes that’s my claim to fame through marriage), and so I made it and gave it to Miles, myself and a good friend who came for lunch yesterday. He loved it! Of all the veggies out there I didn’t think he would take to spinach, but that’s fine by me. So, if your little one, or maybe it’s you or your other half who, detests the leafy greens, give this recipe a chance!

 

Ingredients:

2 small packages of frozen spinach (Bird’s Eye is good)

1-8oz package of cream cheese

1 cup stuffing mix

1 stick of butter (divided)

Directions:

Cook spinach as directed, drain. While still hot, add 1/2 stick of butter, all of the 8oz. cream cheese and stir until melted.

Melt the other 1/2 stick of butter in microwave, add 1 cup of stuffing mix and mix.

Put the spinach mixture in a casserole baking dish- (don’t ask me the size, I used one smaller than a 9×13, you’ll figure it out)

Top with the stuffing/butter mixture. Put in oven on 350F for 30 minutes.

 

Done.

Yum. Congrats, you’ve eaten something the Dirty Jobs guy has probably eaten at some family get together.

Blow on it, it’s hot.

 

Leave a Reply

