The History of My House: The Dunlap Family

Perhaps the longest amount of time spent by a family in the house I call home now in 2011, were the Dunlaps.

The first record I found was in the 1948 Ashland City Directory of Marion E. Dunlap, 44, born in Amherst,  who worked as a salesman at Ashland Rubber Products. His wife Esther G. (Sutliff) Dunlap, 46, was from Greenwich and married Marion on July 1, 1922 in Huron County, Ohio.

They may have lived there before ’48, but I’m still searching for that. In 1948, anyway, it was listed as a duplex, having a 252-1/2 with tennants Marion L. Dunlap and a wife named Dora J. Dunlap. Jason brought up a good point, it was probably Marion E.’s son. A junior! Marion L. was listed online as serving in WWII, so it made sense he could have returned from the war with a new wife and his parents let him stay in their house, and turned the upstairs into an apartment for them. Marion L. worked at Ashland Tile & Linoleum Store.

In 1951 all 4 Dunlaps were living there still, not sure of any children, since the ACD doesn’t list that. The only change was that Marion (junior) worked as a salesman at Gilbert Furniture.

I found a 1942 senior picture from Ashland High School of a Marion Dunlop. Typos happen. I’m really betting it’s the Marion that served in WWII and lived in 252-1/2, I’m almost certain.

By 1955, apparently the younger Dunlaps moved out, as it’s listed in the ACD as just 252 Banning.

So from 1955 to at least 1970, the older Dunlaps were still living there. Marion E. went from being a Department Manager at Eagle Rubber in 1961 to being a salesman at Ashland Rubber Products in 1970. I’m sure it wasn’t much longer til he retired, he would have been 66 then.

The Dunlap Family lived in 252 Banning roughly 22 years, or more. From WWII to Vietnam, they experienced life in my house during those booming and turbulent times. I probably can also thank them for the interesting carpet and tile we uncovered in replacing our carpet and bathroom carpet last year. 😉 I’m not judging- it was the 60’s. I understand completely.

UPDATE:

Maybe my favorite update so far- I found out that Marion E. and Esther had two sons, Marion L. (see above) and Jack Allen. Not sure if Jack ever lived at the Banning house, or if he was already out on his own before and after the war. He certainly visited there for sure, though. I found Jack’s obituary, and learned a lot about the family from that. One thing is that Marion L. is still alive and living in North Carolina. I found a potential address for him and may write him sometime.

I also was given a tip by my friend Joan, who lives down the street, that Marion L.’s daughter, Sue is a genealogist and may have some good info for me. I searched until I was able to find a few email addresses that could be her, and I succeeded! She is a super nice lady, and gave me the scoop of the neighborhood in the 50’s. When she was born her parents did live with her grandparents for a few years until they bought a house of their own. She shared with me that she may be able to find pictures inside and out of the house for me and what it looked like from the 50s to the 70s when her grandparents lived there before they moved to Kentucky to live with their son Jack and his family.

I’m so lucky to have a genealogist that actually lived here and spent time here growing up helping me in my search for details about how my house used to be and who the people were that lived here. Amazing. I’m looking forward to her next emails after she talks with her parents and finds pictures. What a great find today!!

Leave a Reply

