He Never Said Trusting Was Easy

Prokop, Péter (1919-2003) Abraham, Isaac, angel, ram Date: 1961

Trusting is sure easy when things are going swimmingly. It’s another story when obstacles appear. Like big, ugly sharks chomping down on the housing market kind of obstacles. I knew things were rough in Ashland for some trying to sell their house, but I didn’t realize some people were taking 5, 10, even almost 20 thousand dollar losses on their properties. It’s just the economy. I totally understand this is the environment we are dealing with.

Our house will be on the market in the next day or two, and the asking price is, well, lower than I wanted. Sadder yet, it’s at the very high end of what we were advised to start pricing at. I may learn a lesson over the next couple months and have to bring it down but I can’t bring myself to lower it even further yet. It’s already 10 thousand under what WE paid for it. And it’s also a couple thousand under what we still OWE on it right now as I type my pitiful post.

I had a moment of depression, and by no means do I feel giddy right now, but my husband, encourager of my faith, reminded me that God is good and faithful. He reminded me of the story of Abraham and Isaac and how sometimes God will bring us to the brink of something uncomfortable or even terrifying before we see His provision. Trusting God isn’t always easy, and I’m not going to say I always do 100%. I should, but I’m human and I doubt. I worry and I keep “doing the math” and it never adds up. But then I think, what about all the times that God has provided for us in numerous ways that didn’t make sense either. Sometimes things just suck before they get better.

I know our house selling potentially way under asking price is somewhat a trivial matter compared to what others are going through. Loss of jobs, loss of loved ones, illness, abuse, the list goes on and on. Why would He come through for us in this “trivial” pinch, but not for them? Or why them and not us? I don’t know. I don’t know all the plans that are being woven together with sorrows and joys and confusion and clarity. I just wait and trust and I have hope. Not just for our house selling, or just breaking even, but hope that in God’s good and gracious timing we will see things come to light that have been covered in darkness. And we will see the good growing from all of our sufferings, big and small alike.

 

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Matthew 6:25-34

 

2 thoughts on “He Never Said Trusting Was Easy

Leave a Reply

